Start a new topic

Slow video

I am getting unusable results when trying Wikitude.

Unity version 2018.3.0f2

It seems to be running at about 2 FPS.

To reproduce the issue I can just create an empty Unity project, add the Wikitude camera, delete the main camera then try and preview on my 2018 Macbook Pro.

I have no problem if I use Vuforia.

3 people have this problem

Hi, 

I'm sorry this took so long, but this issue should be fixed in the new 8.10 release.

Best regards,

Alexandru

Hi, 

By that I'm referring to the Unity Remote application available on mobile app stores. For more information, please see the Unity Documentation. Information on how to integrate that with our SDK is also available here, under the "Remote Camera" section.

Best regards,

Alexandru

Hi Sorry if this is obvious, im new to wikitude. What do you mean by using the remote app?

I'm also having issues with my built in camera on my macbook being slow.

Hi, 

Thank you for letting us know that this is limited to the built-in camera. I would anyhow recommend to use the remote app, since it provides a closer experience to the real thing, and it additionally allows you to use test Instant Tracking.

We'll continue to investigate the issue and we'll let you know if we have any news.

Best regards,

Alexandru

1 person likes this

Sorry for the multiple posts. I tested this on another mac and I had the same issue.

So for now what I'm doing is, I connected my iphone to my mac using a cable, downloaded Unity Remote on the iphone, then on Unity went to Edit > Project Settings > Editor and picked Device > iphone, and then in the Wikitude Camera, instead of Default or WebCam I picked Remote Camera. 

And now i'm able to test just fine. And the Live Preview on the monitor looks fine too. 

So something weird is happening where the builtin macbook webcam is not properly working with Unity + Wikitude SDK.