Start a new topic

Textures are not working, and Wikitude crashes when importing

Hi! 

I'm new with Wikitude etc augmented reality stuff, but have done quite much 3D-visualizing throughout years (though my skills are not very updated). 

I'm using 3Ds Max 2017 to export its scene into a fbx-file, and tried maybe all combinations of export to try to make it open in Wikitude, but it crashes, shuts Wikitude down in seconds. I have Windows 10. 

BUT, my friend, who has a Mac OS, can open at least some of these files, but he doesn't see the textures, just black silhouettes, expect when there's no bitmap in some object he seems to see its color (that crucifix on the top of the church). 

And I can open some example files that I found from 3D Max's folders, but also they are just silhouettes without textures. 

See the attached FBX- ja MAX-files if they could help... I did several exporting variations with the help of that Wikitude user manual... 

My scene has just some 700 vertexes, so it should function easily with any phone... 

I wonder what all procedures might be needed to consider to make this work in any mobile phones' augmented reality applications...

max
FBX
pdf
FBX

Hi,

would it be possible to have the textures and the texture paths you set for the FBX?

The Windows encoder crashing is an issue we've had for quite a while, and, I'm afraid one that we won't fix very soon either. Luckily, there's a very easy workaround. You can simply bypass the encoder application and use the command line encoder directly.

In the 3D encoder application files, under tools/win/ you will find the gameplay-encoder.exe binary which does the actual encoding. I'm pretty sure it will not be affected by this crash.

It should be as simple as running the executable on the command line and supplying input FBX path and output WT3 path. For some options, running it with -h should give a decent explanation of what is available.

- Daniel

Hi,