Start a new topic

Question about camera quality on Android app

Hi there,

I'm still new with using Wikitude but I was wondering if there's a way to change the camera quality that I'm seeing while running a wikitude app on an Android phone. I've been playing around with some settings through Unity editor but the quality doesn't improve much. Even just running the sample scenes on my phone without changing any settings looks awful; the camera quality is blurry on my phone yet the live preview on unity looks perfectly fine. 

What can I do to improve the camera quality while running wikitude apps on my phone? Is there a specific setting that I haven't set? The best setting I could find is changing the game window from free aspect to 2960x1440 portrait 

Additional info: 

- Using the Image tracking sample scenes 
- Running Unity 2018.2.14, Wikitude SDK 8.2.0 and my Android device is a Huawei P20 Pro running Oreo 8.1

1 person has this problem

Hi, 

The quality of the camera is controlled through the 'Camera Resolution' option in the 'WikitudeCamera' script. For InstantTracking scenes, this is set to SD, to improve performance, but you can switch it to FullHD, to see if that helps improve the camera quality.

Best regards,

Alexandru

Hi. 

Now I'm having problems with the camera starting while on live preview. 

I have the mode set to remote camera, my phone has the unity remote app on and it is plugged in but the camera doesn't start or says 'invalid live preview texture' if I switch to a different mode. 

Can you tell me how to fix this?

Hi, 

Switching modes while the editor is in Play mode is not supported at the moment. This is probably why you are getting the error message.

As for the camera not starting at all, can you make sure that the remote app is working correctly and is properly connected to the editor? Do you see the Game window output mirrored on the device?

Thank you,

Alexandru