Start a new topic
Solved

How do I set/fix a 3D model's direction/orientation after image recognition?

Hi,

I have a 3D model (.wt3) of a drain with connecting pipes that I want to overlay on the ground. I have an image marker on the floor that I can use to perform an image recognition to anchor the model using AR.ImageTrackable.

What I then want to do is fix/set the known real-world orientation (i.e. easting/northing, degrees) of the model/drawable at the point at which it was anchored.

I'm fairly new to this, and don't quite understand how to set the correct orientation and fix the drawable in position so the user can move around in free space and view the drawable.

Any guidance would be much appreciated,

Mike

Perfect, that makes sense.

Hi Mikey,

do I understand correctly, that you want to, after having recognised an image and placed a 3D model on top of it, have the model stay at this exact position without being tied to the image target? Such that you could remove the image target and still have the model in the same spot?

- Daniel

Thats correct Daniel. But once it is 'fixed' to the point at which the image was recognised, it's unclear to me how I set the correct orientation of the model to map to the real-world orientation of the physical object..in this case a series of underground pipes.

Mike

Hey,

I'm not sure you can actually do that with our SDK. The problem being that you would need, after the initial image recognition, switch to instant tracking to be able have a mapping of the environment. I'll think about this some more, but I'm pretty sure the is no way to do this currently.

Is the Image recognition an essential part of your application? Do different things happen for different images? If not, I suspect what you'd really want it either instant tracking or object tracking.