Start a new topic

Our arms as an AR target

Hi everyone,

I would like to create a 3D model that can move with our arms. For example, a bracelet (with a name write on it) that follows the arm movement in wich it is without moving the name form the top of the arm. I think that wikitude can perform this but I'm very new in AR and I would like to know if someone would be nice to help me in this project ? From the project creation to the final "app". The objective is not to do this with a simple bracelet but learning with such simple object will help me for the real 3D model.

If this topic has no place here, please tell me where i can put it and i will replace it.

Bye, Alexandre.

1 Comment

Hello Alexandre,

If you are using Unity you will be able to hide the part of the watch that is not supposed to be shown (occlusion), so it fits as it should in the wrist. I will also post here some tips and tricks when you are working with 3D models that could help you.

Tips and Tricks for 3D models
The Wikitude3dEncoder converts 3D models into an internal representation, so-called wt3 files, which can then be rendered by the Wikitude SDK. The converter supports mesh-based 3D models which can be animated, textured and lighted.

File format: Autodesk FBX (up to version 2015). Thought the FBX format is not a well defined standard it is supported by most 3D modelling tools, like Autdesk Maya or 3D Studio Max, and thereby represents a common 3D format. Since different modelling tools use different representations of the 3D models we recommend to verify the models by the Autodesk "FBX Reviewer”.

Mesh types:
  • Triangle-based meshes: The 3D models usually consist on a hierarchy of scenes nodes where the leaf nodes contain parts of a 3D mesh.
  • Skin-based meshes: mesh vertices a placed relative to a list of joint nodes, so-called bones.

Animations:
  • Key-frame-based transformations/rotations/scalings applied to mesh vertices or scene nodes.