Start a new topic

Centering a 3D Model in Viewport

Centering a 3D Model in Viewport

Hi,

My name is Steve Van Etten and I'm a web developer currently evaluating this software to see if it can do what we need it to do. Ideally, I want to be able to project a 3D model in the iPad screen that stays in the center of the viewport no matter where the user turns (and have the model's size accurately change as the user moves forwards and backwards to and away from it). The goal of the app I'm trying to build is one in which we project a 3D model of a rather large medical device, and we need to show it at actual size, exactly how it would sit in a room. The idea is that the user would get a realistic picture of whether or not this device would fit in their office. I've tried a variety of techniques using your API, including setting AR.RelativeLocation(null, 0, 0, 0) as the location for a GeoObject and I've tried to use the AR.context.onLocationChanged callback function to update the RelativeLocation variables, but I'm not getting anywhere.

So, again all I want to do is project the 3D model in the center of the viewport no matter where the user turns with the iPad and I am having a lot of trouble with this. The snapToScreen functionality will not work in this application, since the model is too large (its roughly 6 feet tall in reality and as a 3D object). -- Steve

Hi Steve,

thanks for your detailed question and description of your use-case. This helps us tremendously understanding your needs better. My solution to this would be using Extended Tracking, which will come as a feature by end of July with Wikitude SDK 5. This would require to use a target image as a starting point (e.g. putting that on the floor). The special thing with Extended Tracking is that the user will be able to continue to see your 3D model even if she lost the initial image. Would that be an viable solution for you?

Hi Phillipp,