Start a new topic

Phonegap Wikitude Limitations

Phonegap Wikitude Limitations

Hi All,

Hope you can help me out on this. I'm planning to develop an AR Prototype App and since I'm very new with Phonegap and Wikitude SDK. I just want to know what are the limitations of using plainly the Phonegap plugin in Wikitude SDK in developing an AR app?

I have some of the functionalities that I would like to include in the development. Please let me know if these functionalities/features can be done.

Video Overlay

Audio Overlay

Activate game - will be creating a simple game using web based scripting

360 photo/image

file download - if this is possible, what file formats can be used for this?

Audio input to activate Video Overlay

Looking forward to your responses. Appreciate it a lot.

Thank you very much!

Regards,

Hi Jeru,

Sounds like a promising project. Please find answers below.

Video Overlay
Currently only full-screen videos are possible. Rendering a video on a target is a feature of an upcoming version but nothing to be released within this quarter

Audio Overlay
AR.Sound can be used to play audio in your experience. This enables background music and e.g. a click-noise on button press.

Activate game - will be creating a simple game using web based scripting
Wikitude?s commands are a JS extension. The experience is written in JS and can then be executed on a so called ARchitectView, which is defined per supported platform. You therefore don?t need to re-implement your project.

360 photo/image
Panorama pictures are not part of our SDK, you may need to use other plugins to e.g. launch native camera application with 360 feature.

file download - if this is possible, what file formats can be used for this?
There are some plugins that allow you to download assets and store them on. Have a look at the existing plugins in the phonegap git.

Audio input to activate Video Overlay