Start a new topic

I'm newbie in Wikitude and Android

I'm newbie in Wikitude and Android

Hello 

I am a newbie at android, and interesting to build augmented reality browser with wikitude.

I've try all the samples, and i'm really exciting with "Displaying Native Detail Screen" and when i read in the forum it say to reusing the Wikitude SDK-Sample application.

And i got much information about html and javascript code from documentation, but i still confuse to implement it with android.

is there any way to build for just one specific sample, because when i take a look android code from sample folder, it's really complicated and not as simple as from section setup guide android.

Please help me, thank you

Hi there!

Although I can't give you an advanced Starter-Guide for Android, I will try to describe the required steps so you can play around with one Sample in your SDK Sample Android project:

1) Have a look at the AndroidManifest.xml and change the definition of the Launcher-Activity by replacing MainActivity with e.g. SampleCamHandlePoiDetailActivity

<activity

android:name="com.wikitude.samples.SampleCamHandlePoiDetailActivity"

android:label="@string/app_name" >

<intent-filter>

<action android:name="android.intent.action.MAIN" />

<!--  -->

<category android:name="android.intent.category.LAUNCHER" />

</intent-filter>

</activity>

2) Delete the activity entry <activity android:name="com.wikitude.samples.SampleCamHandlePoiDetailActivity" android:configChanges="orientation|keyboardHidden|screenSize"/> in AndroidManifest.xml

3) now SampleCamHandlePoiDetailActivity will launch automatically but the WorldPath, which was originally set via intentExtras needs to be set manually by overwriting the following functions in SampleCamHandlePoiDetailActivity:

@Override

public String getARchitectWorldPath() {

return "samples/5_Browsing$Pois_5_Native$Detail$Screen/index.html";