Start a new topic

How Android interacts with Js

How Android interacts with Js

1 person has this problem

Hi, I'm a new developer, so that also means I'm new to Android.

I am familiar with Java and with the explenation of the samples I I understood the Js documents. What I don't quite get is how the Java source files of the example interact with the Js samples. With this I mean, I can't find where they are "called", if they ever finis by themselves or only when I hit return on the phone and how to send parameters and call functions of the Js.

Could anbody help me figure this out or tell me where I can read about it?

Thanks for your help

There are 2 types of communication

Java -> JS

JS -> Java

First one is easy, just use the ArchitectView.callJavascript method. It allows to call any javascript code in the context of the loaded architect world. e.g. any global functions defined in the js file is call able via this method.

From JS to java you have to do following steps:

implement an ArchitectUrlListener and register it with ArchitectView.registerUrlListener(ArchitectUrlListener listener) 

in JS set the "document.location" to any url starting with "archtiectsdk://"

once set, the listener's urlWasInvoked method is called

parse the url (parameters are possible as well) and react accordingly

for example an url can look like this:

document.location = "architectsdk://callactioninJava?id=123";

Thanks, it was really helpfull.

Another question, the camera view and render of the drawable objects on it is handled by de js files o by the Java activity? I would appreciate if you could tell me exactly were on the sample app this is made.